Tasty Tuesday: Oven French Toast

18 Jun
Photo courtesy of www.allrecipes.com

Photo courtesy of http://www.allrecipes.com

Whenever I entertain, I’m all about spending time with my guests. If I have to fuss around the kitchen too much, I get cranky and overwhelmed. That’s why I love ‘make-ahead’ recipes that allow me to relax and enjoy my company. 

I served this Oven French Toast for Father’s Day Brunch, and it was delicious … in fact, better than regular French toast. Instead of sandwich bread, I used thickly sliced bread I had purchased at Panera Bread on a cross-border shopping trip and threw in my freezer, since we don’t have a Panera Bread in my home town — mores the pity. But you could also use thickly sliced French bread. 

Oven French Toast

(Recipe courtesy of AllRecipes.com

Serves 8

1/2 cup butter, melted

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

12 slices sandwich bread 

6 eggs

1/2 cup milk

1 pinch salt

Coat a 9×13-inch baking dish with melted butter. Spread any remaining melted butter over bottom of dish. Sprinkle brown sugar and cinnamon evenly over melted butter. Arrange bread in two layers over brown sugar mixture. (Only one layer for thicker sliced bread). Beat eggs, milk, and salt in a bowl; pour over bread. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Bake in the preheated oven until golden brown, about 30 minutes.

Serve with real maple syrup and berries. 

4 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Oven French Toast”

  1. Selena Robins Musings June 19, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

    Looks like something hubby would love! Baked eggs taste way better than hard boiled eggs, and easy to do, and you don’t have to watch them boil. Thanks for another great recipe.

    • nancyelauzon June 20, 2013 at 10:18 am #

      And the only thing you need to do in the morning is shove it in the oven … this is good, since I can’t do much before my coffee!

  2. Marilyn Gallloway May 19, 2014 at 9:05 pm #

    Love love love this!!!!

Talk to me ;)

