Sam

25 Jun
Samwise Gamgee

Samwise Gamgee

Please, please can we get another dog, my daughters pleaded. And look how cute these ones are! Look how wrinkly and adorable!

So we caved. Sam the Shar-pei joined our family nine years ago, a ball of wrinkly, jowly fluff.

We called him Samwise Gamgee, of Lord of the Rings fame, but over the years he answered to many names: Sam, Sam-Bob (because his head bobbed when he ran full tilt), Bob and Charlie-Bear. Once a vet misread his name on the file and called him ‘Saw-wise’. So sometimes we called him that, too.

I did no research on this breed. I fell for the wrinkles and triangle-shaped eyes, plain and simple. I had no idea that these dogs were the working breed of Chinese peasant farmers, fulfilling roles of guard dog, wild boar hunter and dog fighter.n509414145_38673_5882

We have no wild boars in suburban Ottawa. But we have a lot of cats, squirrels, birds, chipmunks, bunnies, and raccoons. I think Sam has had  fights with all of them, especially other dogs — only the big ones, he doesn’t bother with dogs smaller than he is. Where’s the challenge?

Some of these fights he lost, a.k.a. trips to the vet for antibiotics from deep scratches by cats and raccoons, but most fights he won. And everytime I found a dead bird or squirrel in my yard, I cried and felt so guilty. But by that time I’d fallen in love with him, and could do nothing  but intervene whenever he chased critters around the yard. I guess mothers of juvenile delinquents — can I even say that phrase? I’m sure it’s politically incorrect by now — feel the same way when their kids steal cars or bully other kids. They hate what they’re doing, but love them anyway.

Sam on Guard Duty

Sam on Guard Duty

He was an excellent guard dog. Every day he would patrol the perimeter, making sure we were safe from suburban terrors, such as mailmen, gas company employees, and telephone repair men. I couldn’t let strangers into the house without careful thought, and even then he mostly growled at them. He even growled at friends, for good measure, until he felt confident they weren’t going to attack us. Sam was the reason I watched every episode of The Dog Whisperer, hoping Cesar Milan could pass on techniques to help deal with his behavior.

Shar-peis are described as affectionate, independent, reserved, suspicious and loving. I’d like to add ‘stubborn’ to that list. He was affectionate and loving on his terms, much like a cat. He enjoyed a good scratch, but only if he was in the mood. Usually first thing in the morning. There were certain people he adored … my son-in-law, for one. Other people he tolerated. Like me, for instance, since I was the one who clipped his nails, cleaned his ears and brushed his fur. All I had to do was say the word ‘ears’, and he would give me the hairy eyeball and skulk away. If he saw the ear cleaning supplies, he ran. We muzzled him for nail clipping. Always a fun experience. He looked like Hannibal Lecter with that thing on.

Whenever I fed him, he sniffed the bowl with suspicion, as though he was afraid of being poisoned. But he would readily eat his favorite foods — cheese, hot dogs, banana muffins, ice cream cones and pizza–  from my hand.

Sam and Leroy

Sam and Leroy

My daughter’s dog, Leroy Brown, was attacked by a loose dog during a walk in the park, and Sam leapt to his defense, saving his life. His wounds were so deep from that fight they had to be drained and dressed for a week — and yes, more antibiotics. Sam acted like it was no big deal. Most of the time he ignored Leroy completely, but still, they were members of the same pack, and Sam protected his own.

Just after Christmas, Leroy was diagnosed with mast-cell tumor cancer, and shortly afterward, Sam was diagnosed with lymphoma. We started him on corticosteroids, since there is no cure. Leroy died a little over a month ago, and we knew Sam wouldn’t be far behind him.

It’s hard to live with a dying dog. Many times I would stare at him, or give him lots of hugs. He’d shoot me a look that said ‘What’s up with you?‘ Stoic and independent, a warrior to the end.

Our Sam passed away today. I like to think that he and Leroy are together again, and that Sam is still on guard duty. Rest in peace, dear friend. 

17 Responses to “Sam”

  1. Selena Robins Musings June 25, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

    Beautiful tribute to Sam. I truly believe he is with Leroy, guarding him and playing together. It’s been such a tough past few months for your family to lose two beloved fur babies. Hugs, my friend. xo

    • nancyelauzon June 26, 2013 at 10:19 am #

      Thanks, hon. What would I do without you?

      • Selena Robins Musings June 27, 2013 at 12:13 am #

        Right back at you, mutual leaning on each other society. ❤

  2. fuonlyknew June 25, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

    Beautiful eulogy for Sam and for Leroy. My heart goes out to you. My Chow Chow Molly was so much like Sam, didn’t like her food bowl, tolerated some people, warned others, but she loved me. I could do anything to her and she’d just let me. The vets were all terrified of her because of her breed but she soon won them over and had the run of the place.
    I still miss her mush face, black tongue lolling while she laughed at me, the silly human. More cat than dog, I still miss her.
    I too believe Sam and Leroy are together doing their dog things.

    • nancyelauzon June 26, 2013 at 10:21 am #

      Ahh, the black tongue. Another thing I’ll miss. I always love to see Chow Chows in my neigbourhood. They’re such unusual dogs. Thanks so much for your kind thoughts.

  3. Joanne June 25, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

    Sorry to hear about the loss of Sam. I know he was an important part of your family and will be missed deeply.

    • nancyelauzon June 26, 2013 at 10:21 am #

      Thanks, Joanne. It’s been a rough spring.

  4. judyalter June 25, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    Lovely piece, Nancy. And sorry for your loss of Sam. Grieving for a pet is so hard, but those of us who have loved dogs have to go through the grief. I read somewhere where a little boy, attached to his Irish Wolfhound (short life span) said philosophically that God takes dogs earlier because they’re finished sooner–finished as in maturing, reaching perfection.

    • nancyelauzon June 26, 2013 at 10:23 am #

      What a beautiful sentiment! I’ve always believed our purpose here is to become better souls. Dogs are so close to perfection, it makes a lot of sense. Thanks, Judy.

  5. Rachelle Lerner June 25, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

    It is not easy to loss a pet. When we lost dogs and cats and it does not get easier. Someday, you might find another one to love but they are not replacements for the lost pet, just another member of the family to love and care for. Non-pet people do not realize that they are family!

    • nancyelauzon June 26, 2013 at 10:24 am #

      It’s so quiet around here this morning. I feel like going for a walk, but it would feel strange to go alone. Thanks for your kind comments, Rachelle.

  6. Denise Hansen June 26, 2013 at 8:35 am #

    So sorry to hear about Sam Nance. As a dog owner (third family Airedale), my heart goes out to you and the family. He sounds like quite a character and I know that that personality will be sorely missed. DENISE

    • nancyelauzon June 26, 2013 at 10:25 am #

      Thanks, Denise. Yeah, he had quite the personality. He was always so dignified, but at times he could be a clown.

  7. kathleenkaskawrites June 26, 2013 at 10:18 am #

    The love you gave one another continues on. Bless you.

  8. Linda Rogers June 28, 2013 at 2:58 pm #

    What a tear-jerker. I am a total animal lover and this story brought me to tears. I believe that Sam and Leroy are not only together, they are watching over you and your family. Thanks for sharing your story.

    • nancyelauzon June 30, 2013 at 8:57 am #

      Thanks so much for your kind words, Linda. I’m also a big believer that our loved ones (animal and human) who have passed on watch over us constantly, and have definitely felt that in the past few days!

Talk to me ;)

