Monday Moan – Aisle Hogs

6 Jan
Costco

Photo courtesy of Susan P. Cooper http://findingourwaynow.com/

Monday Moan: Where I get to bitch about what bugs me. 

You’re walking down the aisle of Walmart or your local grocery store, minding your own business, when you see the dreaded roadblock up ahead — a strategically placed shopping cart blocking the entire aisle. You have no choice but to stop dead. The cart’s owner isn’t far away. In fact, they’re usually reaching along the shelf of canned goods, blocking the only potential passing lane with their body.

Sure, all it takes is a simple “excuse me” and they’re happy to get out of your way, but sometimes these people give you a funny look, like they can’t understand why you said ‘excuse me’. Like what is so important that you have to interrupt their shopping?

Guess what, Aisle Hog? You’re not the only person on the planet. Other humans exist in your space. Do us all a favor, and get in tune with your surroundings. If you have to ponder for ten minutes about which brand of pasta sauce to buy, then move your cart to the side of the aisle and knock yourself out. Just please, leave a little space for the rest of us to maneuver around you.

Am I asking too much?

10 Responses to “Monday Moan – Aisle Hogs”

  1. 4amWriter January 6, 2014 at 7:29 am #

    That is why I try to do my grocery shopping at 7am on Saturday or Sunday mornings. Aisle hogs are non-existent. 😉

    • nancyelauzon January 6, 2014 at 9:56 am #

      I’m never up that early! I guess that’s why I’m subjected to Aisle Hogs, LOL! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Rachelle Lerner January 6, 2014 at 4:42 pm #

    What is worse is when Walmart is restocking and leaves mercandise where it blocks aisle and it cannot be moved. Happened to me when I was trying to buy water.

    • nancyelauzon January 6, 2014 at 6:50 pm #

      Happens to me all the time! So annoying 🙂

  3. Selena Robins Musings January 6, 2014 at 5:45 pm #

    I’m still trying to get over the fact that people dare to buy PASTA SAUCE IN A JAR!!! LOL! I don’t like grocery shopping at peak times, best time is early mornings, I agree. My pet peeve is people who get to the cash register and then pull out their cell phones and have a freaking conversation while the clerk is waiting for them to pull out their method of payment. I seriously do not need to know about someone’s mysterious rash when in line. Also, EXPRESS check out means 10 or less items, some people can’t count.

    • nancyelauzon January 6, 2014 at 6:54 pm #

      LOL … bad example, since I know how you feel about canned pasta sauce! I so agree about the phone conversations and the so-called express check out. People can’t count and think they’re alone in the universe.

      • Selena Robins Musings January 7, 2014 at 11:34 am #

        People are getting dimmer with every new techno-gadget out there.

  4. Jewel Divas Style January 6, 2014 at 9:13 pm #

    I hate this!

    I was walking down an aisle in a supermarket and there was a couple with their kids standing right in the middle taking up the space. I didn’t even bother saying excuse me, why should I when they’re the ones being rude and disrespectful to everyone else and blocking the walkway. I shoved past, tried not to touch anyone but barely got the kid as I moved, the mother gave me a dirty look but I didn’t care. If she had’ve said anything she would’ve gotten abuse back from me.

    Then there was the time this family was standing in the doorway of a shoe store I wanted to go in and again, had to shove my way past. The bitch gave some smart mouth comment so mum gave it back as I’d walked on. And they were so rude and disrespectful they thought they had the right to block people going in and out of a store. Never mind the lack of sales that store would be getting from their doorway being blocked.

    Then there are those who are walking along and just stop dead right in front of you to gasbag to someone they know. The amount of people who get hit by trolleys (carts) because they just stop is the same as those on their phones who get run over or bang into walls and doors.

    God people are bloody rude!

    • nancyelauzon January 7, 2014 at 10:31 am #

      I hear you! In fact one of the Monday Moans on my list is people who stop in doorways to check their cell phone. They just don’t give a shit if anyone’s behind them.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monday Moan – Sidewalk Hogs | The Chick Dick Mysteries - January 13, 2014

    […] Monday Moan: Where I get to bitch about what bugs me. To see previous Monday Moans, click here. […]

Talk to me ;)

