Thankful Thursday – Long Island Ice Tea

9 Jan
Photo courtesy of allcocktails.net

Photo courtesy of allcocktails.net

Thankful Thursday: where I express my gratitude for small things

Kind of sad that at the top of my list this week is an alcoholic drink, but that’s the way it’s been rolling for me lately. Please know that my family and friends are at the top of my thankful list, but they’re ‘big’ things, not ‘small’ things.

I credit the Long Island Ice Tea for helping me finish my 5th novel. After a day of non-stop writing during a writer’s retreat, my critique partner and I would enjoy a couple of these drinks on the screened-in porch. A great finish to a great day.

The origins of this cocktail are conflicting. Some say it was invented during Prohibition by a father and son team from a community named Long Island in Kingsport, Tennessee. Others claim it was the brainchild of a bartender on Long Island, New York in the 1970’s, as an entry to a mixed drink contest. 

There also seems to be an infinite number of ways to make this drink using any number of varieties of liquor and mixers. 

As always, I like to keep my recipes simple, so I buy a bottle of “Long Island Iced Tea” mix, which contains: vodka, Triple Sec liqueur, rum and gin. Before you accuse me of being a raging alcoholic, keep in mind that you only need one and a half ounces of this mix, so you’re not actually adding that much of any of these liquors. 

Anyway, here’s my recipe for Long Island Iced Tea, which I perfected last fall while writing. 

To your health!

Chick Dick’s Long Island Ice Tea

Note: Don’t make this drink in a cocktail shaker, it’s meant to be stirred, not shaken. Also, I use a ‘jigger’ to measure the mix. 

Take a tall cocktail glass and throw in a scoopful of ice.

Add:

1 1/2 oz (1 jigger) of Long Island Ice Tea mix

3/4 oz (1/2 jigger) of lime cordial

3/4 oz (1/2 jigger) of simple syrup

1/2 juice of a fresh lemon

Fill the glass with cola of your choice and stir. (Note: some people don’t like to stir Long Island Ice Tea, preferring instead to pour the cola in slowly, leaving the lemon/lime mixture at the bottom and the cola floating on top. It’s a matter of personal choice).

Variation: Instead of fresh lemon juice and simple syrup, you can substitute 2 or 3 jiggers of concentrated frozen limeade. To make concentrated limeade, simply make it up using 1/2 the amount of water and keep in fridge.

Enjoy!

4 Responses to “Thankful Thursday – Long Island Ice Tea”

  1. kathleenkaskawrites January 9, 2014 at 10:32 am #

    You brought up some wild memories. I tended bar while in college and I used to love to make this drink. It was much more exciting than a making a bourbon on the rocks. I think it’s time I found myself a writer’s retreat. I missed reading your blogs. Welcome back!

    • nancyelauzon January 9, 2014 at 11:00 am #

      Aw, you’re so sweet, thank you! Yeah, this drink is fab 🙂

  2. 4amWriter January 15, 2014 at 8:09 pm #

    I can’t really drink these anymore. I don’t remember why.

    • nancyelauzon January 17, 2014 at 10:44 am #

      LOL Kate! Maybe it’s the same reason I can’t drink Gin and Tonics anymore… nuff said 🙂

Talk to me ;)

