Monday Moan – Sidewalk Hogs

13 Jan

Illustration courtesy of http://thisneedstostop.com

Monday Moan: Where I get to bitch about what bugs me. To see previous Monday Moans, click here.

My intense dislike of people who hog the sidewalk is inherited. My father used to complain about this too, lending proof to my hypothesis that pet peeves are genetic. 

There’s no middle lane on sidewalks, but it’s understood by everybody (except Sidewalk Hogs) that when approaching somebody walking in the opposite direction, you move to the right side to pass. It’s not complicated. 

There are exceptions to this rule:  Mothers pushing wide-load baby strollers, mothers with several children, people in wheelchairs and dog walkers. I will gladly step onto the grass — or off the curb — for these people. No problem. 

Otherwise, get off my side of the sidewalk. 

Two kinds of particularly irritating Sidewalk Hogs:

1) Joggers/runners in fancy spandex plugged into their iPods. I understand they can’t hear anything, but pretending they can’t see me right in front of them is lame.

2) Groups of teenagers — who, let’s face it, actually believe themselves to be the center of the universe. 

I refuse to move off the sidewalk for these kinds of Hogs. I brace for impact. Most of the time the Hogs realize they’re about to smash into me and swerve at the last second. But many times I’ve been involved in full-on collisions, or partial collisions involving elbows and shoulder bags. 

Sometimes the Hogs wake up out of their haze, blinking and dumb, mumbling an ‘excuse me’. Most times I get scowled at for taking up their space. 

Have you ever experienced a sidewalk collision?

8 Responses to “Monday Moan – Sidewalk Hogs”

  1. Ryder Islington January 15, 2014 at 9:41 am #

    Ain’t it the truth! I try really hard to be polite when I go out, especially to people who don’t know me. But there are many people who don’t have that policy. Bicyclists! Ugh! And people who are in a hurry, and passing everyone on the sidewalk by being in my lane. Love your Monday Moans!

  2. Jewel Divas Style January 15, 2014 at 10:09 pm #

    Hate this too!

    The only thing I can suggest is head for the side of the path that has the building and not the gutter so you don’t get pushed into the road.

    • nancyelauzon January 17, 2014 at 10:45 am #

      Nah, I’d rather brace myself for impact and face the Hog straight on. Geeze, that sounds like a metaphor for my life (sigh)!

  3. 4amWriter January 21, 2014 at 4:31 am #

    Teens are terrible on the sidewalks. I am not brave enough to stand my ground, however. I’m afraid of teenagers, so I give them a wide berth.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monday Moan – Book Snobs | The Chick Dick Mysteries - January 20, 2014

    […] Monday Moan: Where I get to bitch about what bugs me. To see previous Monday Moans, click here. […]

  2. Monday Moan – 50 Shades of Rejection | The Chick Dick Mysteries - January 20, 2014

    […] Monday Moan: Where I get to bitch about what bugs me. To see previous Monday Moans, click here. […]

  3. Monday Moan – 50 Shades of Rejection | Nancy Lauzon - January 17, 2015

    […] Monday Moan: Where I get to bitch about what bugs me. To see previous Monday Moans, click here. […]

Talk to me ;)

