Monday Moan – Book Snobs

20 Jan

Monday Moan: Where I get to bitch about what bugs me. To see previous Monday Moans, click here.

As a published author, I have only attended one book club meeting. It was my first and last. I left with such a bad taste in my mouth that I vowed never to attend another one.

It was my first face to face with Book Snobs, and for me it was an eye opener to realize that what I believed was an important accomplishment was actually considered sub-standard according to people who hadn’t written a novel, but acted like they could if they wanted to, they just hadn’t had the time and if they did write that novel it would be so much better than mine because it would be:

1. A real book (as opposed to a romantic comedy, which anybody who is anybody knows isn’t really fiction, but drivel for stay-at-home-Moms) 

2. Published by an important publisher in New York City (as opposed to a small press publisher in Arizona or Western Canada or — HORROR OF HORRORS — self-published)

That book club meeting occured about 10 years ago (I don’t really know, since I’ve tried to erase it from my memory) and the idea of being a self-published author isn’t as abhorrent as it used to be, thanks to best-selling indie authors like Amanda Hocking and Bella Andre.

Here is my take on that horrible day:  

10 Responses to “Monday Moan – Book Snobs”

  1. Selena Robins Musings January 20, 2014 at 12:44 pm #

    I think the book snob is still out there, but I also believe most of them are in the closet and don’t all read literary work, they just don’t want to admit it.

    I’ve had fun at book club meetings, and some book signings as well (your favorite thing to do LOL)

    I’m glad the indie author movement is going strong. Readers don’t have to wait years to read an author’s book.

    I’m also glad book signings are a thing of the past, they can be draining.

    • nancyelauzon January 20, 2014 at 1:56 pm #

      Put it this way … I’d rather slice my wrists than attend another book club meeting. Too much? Too jaded? Too cynical? Too bad! LOL

      • Selena Robins Musings January 20, 2014 at 4:04 pm #

        You’re not jaded, you’re just protecting your sanity!

  2. Jewel Divas Style January 20, 2014 at 6:56 pm #

    OH.MY.GOD!!!!!

    That video even made the snob sound how you would expect one to sound, stunted and uneducated.

    The amount of author stories I’ve read where they came across a snob or three is still in the hundreds, if not thousands. What I think is that they’re just jealous or insecure that you did something they did not and want to make themselves look good and “important” because they’re “thinking” of writing a novel. And good luck with writing one in a weekend, only short e-books could get done like that and that’s only if you throw together blog posts.

    Having said all of that, I’ve written and self-published my novels under my author name and am in the process of finishing off or editing four e-books and my fourth novel for release on May 1st as May 21 is my 40th birthday. I have never really mentioned writing books, I’ve kept it to myself because people will give snide remarks and shit all over you because they haven’t and never will.

    • nancyelauzon January 21, 2014 at 10:37 pm #

      Yeah, it’s a tough world out there for authors. I had no idea. Congrats on your release! Let me know if you want me to throw you a ‘Book Shower’.

  3. applenpear January 21, 2014 at 1:46 am #

    What a terrible book snob! Glad our book club meetings aren’t like that or I’d quit going. At least you have a sense of humor about it – hilarious and well done video!

  4. kathleenkaskawrites January 24, 2014 at 10:45 am #

    I’ve run into book club snobs, too. It’s always a few folks who are wannabe writers and feel the need to put down those of us who go through the blood, sweat, and tears to get it done.

Talk to me ;)

