Monday Moan – Snow

10 Feb

SnowSo far this winter, in my home town of Ottawa, Canada, we’ve received 164 inches of snow. That’s 13.6 feet.

To envision what this looks like, picture Liam Neeson with his twin standing on his shoulders, plus another 8 inches. 

When I was a kid I thought snow fell everywhere each winter. It wasn’t until I started travelling south that I realized how far north I live. There are countries that never see snow. They must imagine it as magical and pure and Christmassy. 

Snow can have that effect, even on northerners. But by February, snow isn’t magical anymore. It’s pretty enough when it’s white. But once it’s trampled down and sprinkled with sand and dog pee, it loses its appeal. All that snow means shovelling and school cancellations and traffic jams.  

We do try to embrace our reality. We ski and snowshoe and build forts and have snowball fights and all that fun stuff. But the older I get, the more I dream of those countries where snow is just a nice fantasy. 

I’m ready for the fantasy.

6 Responses to “Monday Moan – Snow”

  1. Kassandra Lamb February 10, 2014 at 7:31 pm #

    I hear ya, Nancy! That’s why I moved from Maryland to Florida. I can’t even begin to imagine as much snow as you’ve gotten this winter.

    • nancyelauzon February 11, 2014 at 3:38 am #

      Dreamin of Florida!! We’re spending a few weeks there in March, and I can’t wait!

  2. Jewel Divas Style February 11, 2014 at 1:47 am #

    Well Australia is currently having heat waves and fires. In South Australia, where I am, we’ve been getting 40 degrees celcius and above since January off and on. Days of 40+ then a few days of 30 something, then 40+, then 30 something. We don’t have air con only fans so it’s bad!

    • nancyelauzon February 11, 2014 at 3:38 am #

      Wow, hard to believe the difference in climates, isn’t it? Stay cool!

  3. Selena Robins Musings February 14, 2014 at 10:14 pm #

    I see people from different parts of the world challenged with heat waves, so I guess their heat waves are as frustrating as our snow and frigid temperatures. My favorite type of weather is cool, crisp autumn, colors, sunshine and NO SNOW.

    • nancyelauzon February 14, 2014 at 10:56 pm #

      Definitely … my favorite months are May and September!

Talk to me ;)

