A Writer’s Retreat – Day Two

11 Nov
From November 10 2014 001Laptop plugged in. Nancy Drew related articles for inspiration nearby — watch, bracelet made of typewriter keys, card case. Coffee. i Pod and headphones. Flash drive for back up. All set.
Breakfast. Check Facebook. Say hello to some new friends. Do crossword puzzle. Go for morning nap. Think about brainstorming session from yesterday. Make notes. Blog. 
Make hamburgers for lunch. Go for a nap. Feel guilty that I’m not writing as I watch my friend Selena Robins tap away at her keyboard. I hate myself. 
Pour a glass of wine and go outside to smoke a cigarette. One of two every evening. I know, I know.IMG_1501
Watch Millionaire Matchmaker. It’s getting dark.
Go outside with friend and drink more wine. Feed a deer that wanders by.  He likes carrots. 
Back in front of my computer. Have a few more ideas but don’t know how to start this damn book. Hope for better things tomorrow. 
 

 

8 Responses to “A Writer’s Retreat – Day Two”

  1. Kelly November 12, 2014 at 12:06 am #

    Don’t be so hard on yourself it will come that’s why your there. Enjoy the time your there.

    • nancyelauzon November 12, 2014 at 12:17 am #

      Thanks, Kelly! Selena says hello, she talks very highly of you 🙂

  2. heidi1820 November 12, 2014 at 2:20 am #

    Hi Nancy, looks like a beautiful place to write, relax and drink wine. Your stories will come. Just write, you can fix it later:) Just keep the coffee pot brewing and make sure there is plenty for you and your writing partner. I hear she loves it. Have a great time 😉

    • nancyelauzon November 12, 2014 at 3:22 pm #

      LOL … Thanks Heidi! I have considered pouring some coffee down her throat, but she would be impossible to live with. She makes me crazy with her tea in the morning. I like tea, but only at tea time (4 pm). My family is British descent. You’re right about fixing it later. That’s what I did with my last book. I wrote it in a month and then revised it until it was what I envisioned.

  3. Pat Egan Fordyce November 12, 2014 at 3:23 am #

    Sounds like a perfect retreat! When you nap you let your mind go….is Selena cooking for you?? I’m interested in the Nancy Drew influences..love Nancy Drew. Hope the muse kicks in, meanwhile, enjoy. Hugs to you and Selena.

    • nancyelauzon November 12, 2014 at 3:29 pm #

      Yeah, it’s beautiful here. I do find napping helps with getting ideas. Selena made us pizza and canneloni. Soooo good! Nancy Drew inspired my writing. All of my books reference her in varying degrees. Just a mention of her name all the way tup o a character who is a wannbe sleuth like Nancy but without the luck, charm, cool convertible, handsome boyfriend or rich father, LOL. Kind of an ‘everywoman’s Nancy Drew’. Thanks for visiting!

  4. Jewel Divas Style November 13, 2014 at 12:05 am #

    You had a productive day….just doing other things, lol.

    Love that you basically get deer on your doorstep.

    • nancyelauzon November 13, 2014 at 2:22 am #

      Hey my home girl! Yes, life in the mountains is fab!

Talk to me ;)

