A Writer’s Retreat — Day Four

13 Nov
002I get a little cabin fever when I’m inside too long, so I decided to go for a walk today without a map and my uncharged cell phone. Bad idea, since I had no clue where the paved trail led or how long it was. 
When I was 5 years old I got lost in the woods. We lived in the country, and this was back in the day before Helicopter Moms and Neighbourhood Watch. Kids were let loose in the world to fend for themselves. No car seats, no seat belts, no bike helmets. Go outside and play, kid. Don’t come back until lunch time. 
The woods across the road beckoned me and I decided to just enter a few steps, turn around and come back. I can still remember the creepy feeling of glancing backwards and realizing that the forest floor looked different than it did two seconds earlier. My grandmother eventually found me and all was well. But I don’t have a good sense of direction and the woods can creep me out. 
Fast forward to my walk today. After 40 minutes it became clear I’d bitten off more than I could chew, and started to get tired. Nature has a way of setting my imagination free, and after another mile I had been chased by a pack of wolves, mauled by a black bear and attacked by a deranged jogger. All in my head. 
But the universe is kind, and I came across a friendly trio of fellow hikers who happily informed me that the village was only 20 minutes further ahead and all downhill. 
I stopped and had a drink from a spring gushing down the mountain. Best water I’ve ever tasted. I wish I could have taken a picture but my cell phone had died a few miles back.
And because my creative juices were now gushing just like that water, I also plotted the first third of my next book. 
Alls well that ends well.

2 Responses to “A Writer’s Retreat — Day Four”

  1. Jewel Divas Style November 20, 2014 at 2:12 am #

    Now you’ve reminded me of ND’s Mystery of the Mother Wolf, where Nancy wonders a few steps from the house and gets so caught up in the snow that she’s completely blinded and can’t find her way back without the guy with the wolf, but at least it helped you make progress 🙂

    • nancyelauzon November 20, 2014 at 3:02 am #

      I haven’t read that one yet, I’ll put it on my TBR list!

Talk to me ;)

