The Trouble with Take Out

4 Dec
I ordered greek souvlaki take out the other day for a family occasion and was very pleased when they told me the salad dressing was in a separate container, since I’d actually forgotten to ask them to do that. So many times when I ask for the dressing in a separate container, restaurants neglect to do it. It’s a no brainer, not to put dressing on a take out salad, isn’t it? Who likes limp lettuce?  
Photo courtesy of: savesomegreen.us

Photo courtesy of: savesomegreen.us

I drive 30 minutes to my daughter’s new home and after guzzling a few glasses of wine, it’s time to eat. We unwrap our dinner and everything looks amazing, except there’s no tzatziki, which is my favorite part of souvlaki. I was very bummed, especially since I gave them a generous tip, which I know people don’t usually do with take out orders, and I’m sure my husband would be pissed if he knew that, LOL. The dinner was delicious, and I tried not to obsess about the missing tzatziki, and everyone said not to worry about it — HA — but it seems everytime I order take out, something is missing or messed up. 
At my local fast food outlets (not mentioning any names) I’m now in the habit of checking everything in the bag down to the last straw and napkin. I’ve received missing items or other people’s meals so often it’s just a necessary evil. 
Now the same thing is happening with higher end restaurants. 
I called them the next day and very nicely asked if the tzatziki was included with souvlaki, and they of course said ‘yes’. They were naturally appalled that the tzatziki was missing, said it wasn’t possible because they remember distinctly putting it in the bag and it wasn’t in the back fridge, so they couldn’t understand what happened. 
Which is another way of saying it must be my fault. That I’m delusional, that somebody in my family decided to play a prank and throw it in the garbage before dinner, that I have nothing better to do than call up restaurants to complain the next day.
“Why didn’t you call us right away? We would have delivered you another one.”
I don’t believe that for a minute, but it’s nice of them to offer. They also offered to reimburse me for the cost of the tzatziki, but I declined. I hung up feeling it was somehow my fault. Maybe I am crazy. Maybe I dropped it on the way out of the restaurant — SPLAT — and didn’t notice. <Sigh>

7 Responses to “The Trouble with Take Out”

  1. kathleenkaskawrites December 4, 2014 at 4:02 pm #

    I love Greek food and it must have tzatsiki! I also hate people to try to blame me for their mistakes. You’re not crazy, Nancy. I’m glad you called that restaurant, they should have reimbursed your the entire meal.

    • nancyelauzon December 4, 2014 at 4:07 pm #

      Right on, sister! Thanks for stopping by 😉

  2. Selena Robins December 4, 2014 at 6:11 pm #

    Totally agree! The least they can do is get it right. Recently I got a coffee instead of a hot chocolate at Timmy’s. The HORROR! I know mistakes happen, we are all human, but we can still bitch about them.

    You’re not crazy….well, you are….but always in a good way. 🙂

    Rock on with the Grump! (We need a T-shirt for this) xo

    • nancyelauzon December 4, 2014 at 6:30 pm #

      LOL I remember that! Here’s to the power of Grumpiness … let’s clink our glasses of coffee … er, hot chocolate.

      • Selena Robins December 4, 2014 at 8:47 pm #

        How about clink a rum and coke to that! 😉

  3. Jewel Divas Style December 11, 2014 at 1:13 am #

    Never tried it but I really HATE it when people try to put the blame back on customers.

Talk to me ;)

