Going Squirrelly

10 Jan
It’s been over a year since our dog Sam died and I miss him still. We buried his ashes in the garden he loved and watched over for us. Now that he’s gone, the critters he so diligently kept away from our yard have returned in full force — birds, rabbits, squirrels, chipmunks and raccoons. They seem to take great pleasure in frolicking across his memorial stone (“Ding Dong the witch is dead”). Ah, the circle of life.Black-squirrel-eating-a-peanut-in-the-snow
Because of my love for animals and the lack of any pets to care for, I’ve taken to feeding these same critters Sam hated. Winters in the north are hard and long. And if I don’t feed the squirrels they’ll eat the bird seed. Besides, they’re cute.
I did a little research and found a recipe for squirrel cookies. I know what you’re thinking. 
Squirrel cookies?
IMG_2111
Recipe courtesy of http://www.squirrelnutrition.com/
There’s a long list of what squirrels shouldn’t eat, and too much peanuts and dried corn aren’t good for them. So I gathered the ingredients for the squirrel cookies, which include a lot of vegetables, baby rice cereal, pecan meal and alfalfa. The recipe called for North Atlantic Cod Liver Oil. I could only find Norwegian. I don’t know what the difference is, but I don’t think the squirrels care. 
The sad fact is, these squirrels eat better than I do. I can barely wash down Omega 3 capsules … I definitely wouldn’t want to try Cod Liver Oil.
But my eating habits (and the other vices I’m struggling with this New Year) are fodder for another blog … 

 

 

2 Responses to “Going Squirrelly”

  1. kathleenkaskawrites January 11, 2015 at 4:35 pm #

    I enjoyed your blog today, Nancy. There’s nothing wrong with squirrel cookies. When my dogs went to heaven, I turned to feeding the birds on my patio. I swear I can recognize each junco, finch, and sparrow that comes to feed.

    • nancyelauzon January 12, 2015 at 3:39 pm #

      So true, Kathleen. The cardinals, juncos and jays are eating up the leftovers 😉

Talk to me ;)

