Valentine’s Day: Love it or Hate it

11 Feb
Photo courtesy Jet's Pizza, www.jetspizza.com

Photo courtesy Jet’s Pizza, http://www.jetspizza.com

There are lots of reasons to hate Valentine’s Day, especially if you’re single. Amidst all the hype of promised romance, heart-shaped chocolate boxes, flashy diamond rings, flowers and lingerie, this ‘holiday’ can make you feel lonelier than ever and excluded from The Love Club.
My daughter hated Valentine’s Day for years, because her rocky personal life always seemed to leave her without a boyfriend around the middle of February. Now that she’s happily involved with someone, she’s making up for lost time. God help her significant other if he doesn’t do The Valentine Thing up to expected standards. 
Therein lies my problem with this holiday. Not only can it leave you gagging on all the contrived sentiment, but your partner’s best intentions could leave you feeling disappointed. I saw a commercial the other day that made me smile. A local pizzeria, in honor of Valentine’s Day, is offering heart-shaped pizza. I can’t figure out how I feel about this. Heart-shaped pizza? What does that say about a relationship? So your guy can pick up the phone and order out. Big deal. At least flowers are associated with love. Intrinsically speaking, there’s nothing about pizza that makes me think of love. Heartburn, maybe. 
Usually my husband buys me a nice card plus flowers or chocolates (unless I’m on a diet, then he’s limited to flowers). I don’t think I’ve ever received jewellry for Valentine’s Day, simply because it seems a bit over the top, and if I’m going to get jewellry I get it at Christmas or on my birthday, which is at the end of February and therefore overshadows Valentine’s Day. I reciprocate by buying him a nice card and chocolates or maybe a single red rose. And we might go our for dinner. 
So on the plus side, Valentine’s Day is a way for us to make a date to spend time together, and give each other reminders of how we feel. But that can happen any time of the year, not exclusively on one day in the middle of the winter. 
In her article in The Huffington Post, Susan Kraus, a therapist and mediator,  says, “Use Valentine’s Day to make your relationship stronger.” She suggests that Valentine’s Day can be a way to celebrate and acknowledge our commitment to our partners in life by taking time to ask some seldom asked questions (from a list of 10) instead of the usual, once-a-year flamboyant gestures or gifts. For example, “Tell me something that I did for you or with you this past year that made you really happy.”
I think it’s a good idea. And much more meaningful than heart-shaped pizza.
 

4 Responses to “Valentine’s Day: Love it or Hate it”

  1. Selena Robins February 11, 2015 at 9:16 pm #

    Good post! You know how I feel about Valentine’s Day, it’s way too commercialized, and meaningless when a woman (or man) needs to tell his/her significant other to do something on that day. Sure, it’s a great way to go out to a movie, another date night (although this year, I am staying away from movie theaters, so we don’t get trampled on by the hoards of people vying to see a certain movie (gag me).

    Heart shaped pizza??? Stupid! If I want to do something special, I’ll make my honey a pizza, because you know, if he ordered one, I’d feel insulted that he didn’t like mine! LOL

    I don’t like flowers indoors, and he plants me a rose garden outside every year. Jewelry is best left when I least expect it.

    So what’s left? To keep on keeping with the little things he does, like help around the house, make me laugh, and if wants to spring for a bar of dark chocolate with chili peppers, that’s okay. 🙂

    I guess I am opinionated on this. LOL And yes, I am romantic, I’m a romance author, I just don’t buy into the whole Hallmark thing.

    • nancyelauzon February 12, 2015 at 12:49 am #

      I knew you’d have some relevant comments on this issue, LOL! Well said!

  2. Denise Hansen February 12, 2015 at 11:19 am #

    Well apparently I am going to a hockey game on Valentine’s Day with some other couples but hubby tells there will be food involved ….Nothing says romance like wings and deep-fried pickles.

    • nancyelauzon February 12, 2015 at 1:31 pm #

      Lol! A very Canadian Valentines Day date … Make sure you add a couple of brewskies with that 😉

Talk to me ;)

