Foster

19 Feb
Chewbacca, a 6 year old Shih Tzu foster

Chewbacca, a 6 year old Shih Tzu foster

I like dogs more than most people. They have their priorities in order, live in the moment and teach us what it means to be human. 
In my former life I took care of people with heart disease. My job was important, all-consuming and never dull. Despite the incredible workload and stress, I knew I was giving back in a unique way and making a difference to the world around me, patients and co-workers alike. 
Now I write novels, which has given me a chance to explore my creative side, a part of me I ignored for too long. But it’s a solitary activity, sitting on your ass in front of a monitor all day. You live inside your head with your characters, a self-absorbed practice that can make you anti-social. Add to that cold winter weather, and many days go by where I haven’t stepped outside in several days, except to have my evening cocktail and smoke the odd cigarette — gasp, yes, I even do that occasionally — and to throw some food at the birds and squirrels in my backyard.
But I’m aware something is missing in this empty nest of mine, so I’ve decided to become a volunteer foster parent to dogs from my local animal shelter. It’s a charity close to my heart. I have time on my hands, own a big house and fenced yard and I miss walking dogs.
Chewbacca will be with us for a few weeks. He is scary skinny, and needs some meat on his bones. Whereas, I’m on a perpetual diet. If only I could give him some of my fat. But alas, the universe doesn’t work that way. 

10 Responses to “Foster”

  1. Catherine February 20, 2015 at 3:07 am #

    Good for you Nancy! Chewie is a cutie.

  2. Denise Hansen February 20, 2015 at 12:33 pm #

    You are doing a wonderful thing Nance. I am glad to have my fur baby and walks with her focus my day.

    • nancyelauzon February 20, 2015 at 1:56 pm #

      Yeah they really force you to get outside, even in winter!

  3. kathleenkaskawrites February 20, 2015 at 3:18 pm #

    Bless you!

  4. juke01 February 25, 2015 at 2:31 am #

    HAHAHA! Too bad we couldn’t just give our love handles to the dogs! :p

  5. Kate Johnston February 25, 2015 at 11:02 am #

    This is a great idea. Enjoy your new little friend!

Talk to me ;)

