Grumpy Hump Day — Being a D**K Means Never Having to Say You’re Sorry

6 May
Yes, I’m starting a weekly grumpy blog on Wednesdays, a.k.a. Hump Day. Every other day seems to have its own theme: Manic Monday, Taco Tuesday, Throwback Thursday, Freaky Friday. So I officially pick Wednesdays as Grumpy Hump Day.
My kids used to giggle when I said ‘hump day’, and that’s when I realized the word ‘hump’ had also become a synonym for ‘sex’, but back in the dark ages, hump day always referred to Wednesdays, the middle of the work week, and according to the Urban Dictionary, it’s still “used in the context of climbing a proverbial hill to get through a tough week, closer to the weekend.”
Plus hump rhymes with grump.
I may not grump every Wednesday, but I can do whatever I want, it’s my blog.
sorryToday’s grump is about a noticeably growing number of people who never say they’re sorry. Now I’m know I’m Canadian and we are known for apologizing a lot, and maybe it’s just me, but it’s geting more rare to hear the ‘sorry’ word from acquaintenances and strangers alike.
Nobody’s perfect. I screw up all the time. I even say ‘sorry’ when somebody bumps into me. So maybe I’m more senstitive to this issue than other people. But to me, it shows an appalling lack of taking responsibility for your actions, right or wrong.
Two examples:
1) I called a local craft store who is holding DIY painting workshops on old furniture. I asked if they had any available spots for Saturday, April 25th. I heard paper shuffling, and she finally said yes, two spots on Saturday the 23rd. I said, “You mean the 25th.” She said “No, the 23rd.” We went back and forth a while, me thinking I’m crazy and rummaging through my office for a calendar while staring at the email in front of me that clearly says there’s a class on April 25th. We finally realize she is talking about Saturday, May 23rd. I repeat again that I’m interested in Saturday, April 25th. She says, “You asked about May, not April.”
I was dumbfounded. I know I didn’t ask about May, evidenced by the fact that we kept debating the 25th versus the 23rd as being a Saturday. Bottom line, there was a mix up, but did she offer an apology? No. Her final comment to me was: “Saturday April 25th? That workshop has been booked up for weeks.” Thanks, that’s all I wanted to know, MORON. And if you think I’m spending $80 for a F***ing workshop with you, you’re crazy.
2) I have an appointment at 8:30 am at the local shelter for my foster dog’s weekly vet check up. This is early for me. I’m usually just waking up at 8:30 am. I know, I’m very lucky that I’m not in the 9 to 5 rat race anymore, but I earned it. Anyways, I bring along a coffee and pull up to the foster entrance at 8:35 am. The door is locked. Even though it’s spring, I’m shivering with the cold, so I go back to my car with the dog, who is also freezing. I call the office. Of course, nobody answers and I leave a voice mail. Fifteen minutes later we’re both still waiting. I drive around back and flag down a woman in scrubs on a smoke break, and tell her my predicament. She says she’ll open the door.
When I finally get inside I’m greeted with a friendly ‘hello’ by the usual staff member as though nothing is wrong and I haven’t been kept waiting in the parking lot for 15 minutes for no apparent reason. Now I think this shelter is amazing for the work they do, and I love volunteering for them, but really? Just a quick ‘sorry about that’ would have been nice.  I don’t want to get to the point where I’m giving the animal shelter staff grief, because I know how hard they work. But I couldn’t let it go. I finally got her to admit they had a staff meeting earlier and forgot to unlock the door. Hey, shit happens. That’s really all I needed. I didn’t even care that she didn’t apologize, I just wanted an explanation.
Am I asking too much? Am I turning into a cranky bitch? Maybe people mistake an apology for a sign of weakness. But for me, it’s always been a sign of strength.
Or maybe I just need to get over myself.
 

11 Responses to “Grumpy Hump Day — Being a D**K Means Never Having to Say You’re Sorry”

  1. Jessica May 6, 2015 at 1:01 am #

    Hahaha you’re hilarious!! I dont think you’re being unreasonable at all! People don’t like to admit they’re wrong even when they know it’s their fault. Who knows why???

  2. Kate Johnston May 6, 2015 at 11:12 am #

    People who don’t offer apologies tick me off, too. Even if they don’t think they’re in the wrong. It’s just a nice way to break the tension. I’m always offering apologies even when I know I haven’t messed up, thinking if I apologize first, the other person will reciprocate. It actually works.

    • nancyelauzon May 6, 2015 at 1:23 pm #

      Yes that works too. But lately I just want to force them to say it first … There’s a little devil on my shoulder LOL!

  3. Selena Robins May 6, 2015 at 2:40 pm #

    I am so sorry you had shut shitty encounters. Wait, why am I saying sorry, I didn’t do it. It’s the Canuk in me. 😉

    I blame technology. No really. Do people even send thank you notes anymore? Not too often, because they think a curt thanks on social media is enough, if you get that. Text messages, email (I’m still old school, I love emails), social media, etc. has not only butchered grammar with all the acronyms I hardly understand, but it has removed all sense of professionalism in a lot of cases.

    Good grumpy blog. 🙂

    • Selena Robins May 6, 2015 at 2:42 pm #

      Here I am talking about grammar, when I made a freakin’ typo on my comment. LOL! (Oh, and then I go and use an acronym for laughing.

      I am sorry. No truly sorry. 😉

      P.S. Should have been such shitty encounters above.

    • nancyelauzon May 7, 2015 at 12:46 am #

      You’re right, face to face social graces are disappearing thanks to technology 😉

  4. kathleenkaskawrites May 6, 2015 at 4:06 pm #

    You made me laugh, again Nancy. If this is what your grumpy Wednesdays are like, I can’t wait to read about Manic Mondays.

  5. Jewel Divas Style May 7, 2015 at 9:09 am #

    It’s funny, I actually don’t want explanations.

    The amount of times I’ve asked for a price, or where is something etc and they go on this long winded diatribe instead of just giving me the answer to my question. I don’t care, I just want the answer.

    I’m 41 this month and old enough to figure out that shit happens and sometimes things don’t happen on time and I have the patience to wait. Other times I feel like my time is being wasted. I guess it just depends on the situation.

    Sadly, Gen Ys in particular are big on lack of manners, and according to two Aussie magazine articles I read this week, flakiness as well. Apparently running on time, using manners, doing what you say you’ll do, standing by your promises etc are a Gen Y habit. Sadly, they got their lack of manners from their Boomer parents who would have been raised better.

    How sad has the world gotten that adults with manners can’t teach their children manners?

Talk to me ;)

