Goodbye, Joe

25 Jul
caffeine-kilos-snapback-web-2_1I have this … friend. Let’s call him “Joe”. I’ve known him since my university days. He would help me wake up early for class and give me the energy to get through the day. He did the same thing once I started working. He always looked great but he smelled even better. I grew accustomed to that smell. 
We had a falling out when I got pregnant. I couldn’t stand to be around him. But once my daughters were born, we settled our differences and have enjoyed our relationship ever since. 
Now my doctor is telling me that I have to give him up. That’s he’s toxic to my mental health. I’ve known this for some time, but the thought of letting him go is just so hard. I’ve left him before but suffered severe headaches. Once he was back in my life, the headaches disappeared. 
But I made a promise to myself (and my doctor) and that I will definitely move on. So now I have a new friend … Herb Tea.

4 Responses to “Goodbye, Joe”

  1. kathleenkaskawrites July 25, 2015 at 2:45 pm #

    Don’t worry, Nancy. Your friend Joe is my friend too, and, although he misses you, he is happy here.

  2. Kate Johnston July 28, 2015 at 1:11 pm #

    I can’t give up Joe right now. You’re stronger than I am.

    • nancyelauzon July 28, 2015 at 1:58 pm #

      Not stronger, just too jittery to continue, LOL

Talk to me ;)

